– The Process –

– 1 –
An announcement and poster design  will be sent to all provincial school divisions and library regions. Our thanks to the schools, teachers, libraries and Minister of Education for their assistance.


– 2 –
Applications will be accepted from April 1 to April 30 of each year.  Applications must be submitted by mail or courier. Incomplete applications will not be considered. 


– 3 –
We will send a confirmation of receipt of accepted (i.e., complete) applications in early May.


– 4 –
Accepted submissions will undergo an initial screening process before being sent to a panel of judges which includes published poets. 


– 5 –
The winner will be notified in June. 


– 6 –
Only the winner will be announced. All other entries will be destroyed – so please retain a complete copy of your submission including your poetry.


– 7 –
We regret that we are unable to provide feedback to applicants, although this may occur in some cases at the discretion of the judges.


In the event that no application is deemed worthy by the judges for an award, no winner will be announced for that year.


Please submit your entry to:

Paddy O’Rourke Poetry Scholarship
c/o  Ray Penner
1126 2nd Street East
Saskatoon, SK  S7H 1R5
Ph: (306) 241-7079